Achievements of Lions


Within our own club and the Lions District, a number of our members have achieved some notable positions. Following his Presidency, Keith Mathiesen went on to become a Zone Chairman, Deputy District Governor and following that was nominated by our club for the position of District Governor, but was tipped at the vote at the Nambour District Convention. Another member that went on to join District Cabinet was Ray Crompton who for many years was District Xmas Cake Chairman and then on the Australian Cake committee. Ray’s hard work on that committee over the years made the Christmas cake what it is today. Ray was also a Zone Chairman. Our administrative stalwart of the club is Brian Farrow. Brian for many years undertook what is probably the most responsible position in any Lions club, that of Secretary. Many of the presidents who had Brian as their secretary realised how easy Brian made their year. His meticulous ways was rewarded one year when he received the District ‘Secretary of the Year’ award from the District Governor. Within our own club many members have been thanked and rewarded for their efforts by the then incumbent President.

One particular award that is considered the highest award within a club is to become a Melvin Jones Fellow. This award, named after the founder of Lions International, is given to those outstanding Lions in a club who have contributed in the service of their club and Lionism. This Award has been presented over the years to five of our members being Ray Crompton, Brian Farrow, Lindsay Stewart, Keith Mathiesen and Bob McGregor. Peter Garland, a recent new member to our club and a long standing Lion who has served in a number of W.A. clubs has also the distinction of a Melvin Jones Fellow award.